Recognizing Dystopia

Late in 2020, I wrote about something I myself should have read twice.
To avoid what was next? To at least understand it better? Maybe both?
All I know is that I was sitting in my small, one-room-apartment that had not been set up for spending months in there all on my own, and I was confused. I was confused about the independent and freedom loving person I had been until then. I felt as if I was not as strong as I had always thought and I felt lost and lonely.
So, I was writing about the loneliness of witching. About how heartbreaking it was were desperate souls went in their darkest moments.
I should have watched out better where I was going.

What I actually did back then was moving in with a friend, who belonged to an old circle of friends. I had had enough of being alone, I questioned my strength and my independence, and so I gave it all up. I moved in with thew weirdest person I knew, in the hope of maybe starting my own 10 seasons of friends. And while I was doing this, I wrote about the trap I was falling into, because in these difficult times, we do not always see clearly. I should have held on to my freedom and my strength much more. I should have hesitated. I should have asked the former roommate why they left, or maybe talked to the soon-to-be ex girlfriend what was going on. What eventually made me leave and start confusing months of couch-serving and struggling to decide how to proceed with my living situation as well as my friendship was when that friend tried to self-diagnose me with a very specific mental illness he also self-diagnosed himseld with to justify for serious crimes, as well as him gaslighting me into believing I drank much more bottles of wine than I actually did.
In my weekest moment, I was warped into foul play, and I noticed just in time to get out of there before it was too late.

But still.

While I noticed that times of crisis are rarely those of great decision making, I stumbled into disaster.

What is the point of this?
Maybe it‘s that in difficult times we have to especially look out for ourselves, because we are more vulnerable and insecure about things we do not need to be.
Maybe it‘s about the chances of recognizing Dystopia. I wrote about the trap I was stepping into. I noticed it was there and still did not recognize it.

Staring into Dystopia‘s eyes is so much to take, it can take time to process all the information.
When the world gets dark, some ramblings in the back of the head can hold the most truth at all. This does not make it any easier to keep yourself together.

Published by Mistress Witch writes

About the historical horror of living. Drafting my witching novel. Chasing dark, forgotten and haunted tales.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started