Why being human is so terrifying

Recently, I was wondering where my fear of doing normal things actually comes from. And no, I do not mean a fear of not being special enough or not getting enough attention-
Well, to be totally honest, that is an issue as well.
But not the right one for tonight.
What I was thinking about is the fear of doing the things people usually do in life. Joining in the activities that usually connect us to other humans.
Having a nice hobby.
Doing sport.
Building a career.
Starting a family.
Buying a house and a car.
Taking a nice vacation.
Visiting the family to tell them about these things.
I was wondering why it makes me so sick to join into these normal human activity.

When I think of doing all of these normal things. I can feel my body cramping. All my muscles start colliding and suddenly I don‘t like to think about the future at all. Suddenly, the future looks like nothing but a collection of traps to fall into and find myself immobilized.
I think of everything I can do wrong.
I think of standing in front of a group of people and not getting a word out instead of finding friends.
I think of not being good enough to get a job.
I think of how likely it may be for me to be infertile.
I think of losing my job and not being able to afford the home I liked so much any longer.
I think of presenting all of these terrible things to a family that wishes to have something nice to talk about.

Is that the case? Am I just scared of not being good enough?

That could be it, I have to admit. Simply the fear of not being good enough. Of not reaching those goals and never being the positive thing for others to talk about. Never experiencing fulfillment. Never achieving your goals, or experiencing certain emotional stages …
Never finding the job you‘re good at. Never having children. Not having enough friends.

But I honestly think, there also is another reason.

Honestly, I don‘t know what I want from my future at this point. I have lost all family I ever got along with in the recent years and also had to let go of many friends for some heartbreaking reasons. At this point, I wonder who will still be there in 10 years to celebrate something like Christmas with me, or to notice when I am gone (I sound so old and I am not even 30).
And I don‘t know where that leaves me.
But the pressure of being as normal as possible, of having a career and starting a family and such things does not make it easier.
What if I feel lonely and still don‘t feel committed to these things? How can I even reach out to the people that are still left if I don’t have any of these normal things to tell? Most things about my life are so special, I have to do a lot of explaining whenever I present myself to people and then it is kind of disappointing that I don’t have a job they know something about and don’t plan on having children too soon (if at all). I am a thing that does not make sense, but I also don’t want to do the things that make sense.

Maybe sometimes I think that I am not good enough.
Maybe many of these things really just don’t work for a person like me.

This position is very lonely, and I don’t know how to change it.

Published by Mistress Witch writes

About the historical horror of living. Drafting my witching novel. Chasing dark, forgotten and haunted tales.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started