A heartbreaking castle finding!

Let me bring to you the tale of the most perverted cabinet I have ever seen!

First of all, I visited a beautiful castle this weekend, and although I am not allowed to upload the photos I took inside, I will tell you about one thing in there that kindled a lot of witching energy in my thoughts!

Few words to the castle: The castle in Rheydt, part of the not so popular city of Mönchengladbach in Germany, is a Museum about the history of the city as well as the family once reigning in the castle. The history of the city is worth a look, since it shows the struggles of many industrial centers and was the main quarters of the British occupation zone for many decades.

But what I want to tell you about hides in the other part. In the heart of the only Renaissance castle of this area. Between old paintings, maps and medieval suits of amour, hides a cabinet. A fine and expensive cabinet. One that only exists once. I can see a proud citizen of a medieval city buying it from a exotic stranger and presenting it proudly in their home. I can see it being used to hide away little secrets in its loads. Needles, love letters, stained pieces of fabric.
What‘s so interesting about this cabinet? Except it being from the early 17th century, of course.
It is made of ebony, finely carved and polished, and of ivory.
Every small load, every door has an ebony frame and an ivory plate, with patterns and sceneries carved in. But this cupboard standing right in front of me and my witch and having costs so many innocent lives already is not the worst. Oh no.

„Look at the stands“, my witch whispers into my ears and I felt how her heart was racing. „Those fucking stands have claws!
Yes, the strands were embraced by claws. So, the most bloody and ruthless cabinet from one of the darkest centuries ever was held by claws. Claws were just so reaching out underneath it and held it.
„And you know what‘s best?“, my witch kept hissing. „Even though this fucking cabinet had claws and was made of blood, it is still us getting burned for hiding a needle somewhere in there.“

I saw her point.
I could imagine this standing in a fine living room and being used by the Mistress of the house regularly, until one day she would fall out of grace and would face death for using a needle to patch some socks. And no one would take notice of her husband having once bought this most cruel and heartbreaking cabinet that had claws!

Between all the weird things each time has accepted as normal, it is so tough to minimize the trail of blood we leave behind somehwere on earth.


If anyone reading this is ever in the area, the castle is truly worth it. Also, for looking out for this piece of furniture I wish I could have shown here!

My latest feminine moment

This one not going to make an attempt in defining what being feminine actually means.It is about situations in which I notice that I am on the feminine end of a spectrum and have to take the consequences. But let me start at the beginning.Come with me back to one of the first warm days…

Daddy’s tale

„What if Daddy disapproves?“, a witch once giggled into a bottle of wine that had no bottom. „Oh, I think he does!“ What kind of Daddy is she talking about? The one that put her in this world, or rather the one that made this world exist at all?Definitely not the one petting her head…

A witching melody! Bowles released a new track!

Maybe a few of you remember that last Walpurgis night I started a little experimental band based on my witching poetry and the many talents of a good friend of mine (check Soar out on Instagram!). Recording music with a friend is a childhood dream come true. I cannot put into words how whole I…

Published by Mistress Witch writes

About the historical horror of living. Drafting my witching novel. Chasing dark, forgotten and haunted tales.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started